top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex Puh

Text Adventure System - Devlog #1

Visual Novel/Choose Your Own Adventure System for Unity



So I've been developing this text adventure system as a fallback hobby after recommending BlackThornProd's text system tutorial to a friend. I decided that I'd attempt it myself and extend it.


So far the the system can display blocks of texts in a speech bubble panel or a narration panel a la visual novels that takes up the bottom third of the screen. It can read an array of these text blocks from point A to B and can jump between any indices between. It can auto read through these blocks with a customizable pause time in between.


I introduced the choice system a week ago which instantiates choice buttons with delegates to a jump function. A few issues I ran into were the auto toggle flipping its function inappropriately and strange buffer issues with the "typing" coroutine.


In comparison to how industry grade text adventure tools work (eg, Inklewriter, Renpy) my Unity package has a long way to go. I don't have any way to swap/transition through character or background art yet. I haven't implemented audio clips or a log. And the JSON exporter I initially wanted to implement will probably be shelved. I didn't necessarily create this to be user friendly because my intentions for this codebase is to deploy it for game jams or personal projects. I think I'll have to write some pretty comprehensive documentation before I publish it for public consumption.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page